Tuesday, August 3, 2021
Home Sports Field Hockey Hall of Fame: Two 1990 teams enshrined

Hall of Fame: Two 1990 teams enshrined

When alumna look at current field hockey teams at the College, they judge their ability and prominence by thinking back to the 1990 team that made a magical run to a National Championship.

That team — one of three teams inducted into the College’s Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 21 — was filled with stars up and down the roster, including Hall of Famers Cathleen Filipello, Gina-Carey Smith, Cathy Swezey and Jill Cosse.

Greg Bellotti was a hard-hitter at safety for the 1990 football team. (Tom O'Dell / Photo Editor)

“I played with so many powerful women and had so many powerful coaches that it really amazes me that I could be a part of this group because, to me, each one is more amazing than the next,” said Cosse, an individual inductee in the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011.

However, it was one woman who could not make it to the ceremony that most members credited as being the rock of the team. Terry Doyle, a senior on the 1990 squad, died shortly after the season ended from a brain aneurism, but she remains in the hearts of each member of that team. Head coach Sharon Pfluger continues to honor Doyle by donning her initials on her teams’ uniforms each year.

Joining the 1990 field hockey team on Friday night was the 1990 football team that took the College by storm as they made their way into the NCAA tournament.

Crowds packed into Lions Stadium for every home game, including the team’s season-ending loss to Hofstra University.

“All of a sudden people wanted to come here to watch,” Greg Bollotti, a safety for the 1990 Lions and Class of 2011 inductee, said. “Teams didn’t want to come here to play because it was a tremendous home field advantage to have this aura, this feeling around, and it was just special. The students were everywhere, 80 percent of The Signal was football and you’d have games televised and it was awesome.”

Also receiving recognition was the College’s 1996 men’s soccer team, who ran the gauntlet and won a national title in current head coach George Nazzario’s second year on the job.

The Lions went into the tournament with a 12-5-1 record and outlasted their opponents in five consecutive one-goal victories, including a win over the defending champions, Williams College. The deciding goal of that game came from Bertrand Louis, his only goal of the season.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments