Sunday, June 13, 2021
Home Sports Two in athletic department receive awards

Two in athletic department receive awards

Sharon Pfluger and Ann King have both been recognized for the dedication and hard work for the College’s athletic department.

Sharon Ffluger, the College’s head field hockey and women’s lacrosse coach, will be inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches’ Association (NFHCA) Hall of Fame Class of 2003, along with four other women at the NFHCA Awards Luncheon. The luncheon will be held on Jan. 10 in Baltimore, M.D.

The five inductee’s, Linda Kreiser, varsity field hockey coach for Lower Dauphin High School, Char Morett, head field hockey coach at Penn State University, Sharon Taylor, former head field hockey coach at Lock Haven University and Dottie Potter Zenaty, head field hockey coach at Springfield College were selected by the NFHCA Awards and Hall of Fame Committee.

The NFHCA Hall of Fame had only inducted three previous classes.

Pfluger has been acknowledged as one of the most successful field hockey coaches in Division III.

She was also the 1990 NFHCA Division III Coach of the Year after her team won its fifth NCAA Championship and finishing the season with a record of 18-0-1.

The following season her team held its ground and became the first Division III program to win two consecutive championships.

Pfluger will lead the College’s field hockey team for the 19th season in 2003. She achieved her 300th career with here at the College in a 1-0 shutout against SUNY Cortland on Oct. 22, 2001.

The Lions field hockey team has produced a record of 328-34-5 under her guidance overall and 124-7-1 in the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC). Her winning percentage of .856 is fifth from all three NCAA division coaches.

Ann King recieves

Warren Berg Award

Also recognized, was Ann King, the College’s Sports Information Director (SID), who was chosen to receive the Warren Berg Award from the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) at their annual workshop on July 2 in Cleveland.

“I’m very tickled that my peers thought that well of me,” King said. “It was not an individual award, it was a combined effort.”

“Being recognized by your peers is one of the best compliments anyone could ever have,” King added.

King has served as the College’s SID for the past 11 years and had held the same position for six years prior at Drew University.

The Warren Berg Award is given each year to a member of CoSIDA’s college division who has greatly contributed to the field of college sports information.

King provides publicity for the College’s 21 varsity sports, writing and editing all media guides and event programs. She also maintains the athletic department’s Web site.

During the summer of 1999, King became the 10th female named to CoSIDA’s Board of Directors in the 46-year history of the organization.

King was named to the Board of Directors of the Eastern College Athletic Conference-Sports Information Directors Association (ECAC-SIDA) in 1995, serving as the secretary. She now serves as the group’s president for the 2003-4 academic year.

King also holds membership in the Women’s Sports Foundation, the United States Basketball Writers Association, and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and is one of the founders of FAME (Female Athletic Media Relations Executives), an organization whose mission is to discuss problems facing women in her field.

Since taking the position as the College’s SID, she has served as host SID for 13 NCAA Championship events, 42 NCAA Regional tournaments as well as a good deal of conference tournaments.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments