Thursday, June 17, 2021
Home News SGA inducts nine new members

SGA inducts nine new members

The SGA swore in nine new members – Senators Glendale Barrios, Lee Whitesell, Kira Peterson, Keith Lucas and Marisa Markowitz, along with Freshman Class President Kiren Sahni, Freshman Class Vice-President Molly Seiferas, Freshman Class Secretary Kelly Pfeiffer and Sophomore Class Secretary Anup Shah.

“I’m really happy to have all these people aboard,” President Christina Puglia, said. “They seem very enthusiastic and motivated.”

“We hope to have a full Senate by next Wednesday,” Puglia added, referring to the nine positions still open in the Senate.

Applications for those positions were due on Monday and will be presented at the next general body meeting.

SGA also took nominations for the internal positions of Speaker of the Senate, Parliamentarian and Historian.

Nominated for Speaker of the Senate are Senator of Art, Media and Music Laureen Biruk, Senators at Large Pedro Khoury and Terisha Mears, and Senator of Education Thea Schoenberg.

Interim Parliamentarian Chris Tuohy is running for Parliamentarian unopposed.

Junior Class President Tiffany Meredith and Senators Kira Peterson and Marisa Markowitz are running for Historian. Positions will be voted on at the next meeting.

Representatives from Sodexho spoke to the Senate regarding the implementation of a Carte Blache system for freshmen and sophomores starting in the next academic year. Sodexho plans to try out the system in November to gain more student feedback.

Marco Zelaya, vice president of Legal and Governmental Affairs presented constitutions for four new student organizations.

The clubs included the Women’s Lacrosse Club, the Table Tennis Club, the Aero Design Club and Ink.

The Aero Design Club engages underclassmen in higher-level research in the Engineering field.

Ink is an organization for writers that will put on readings, run workshops and bring published authors to campus.

SGA approved all of the constitutions.

Senator of Education Yannell Gomez resigned from her position due to scheduling conflicts.

SGA nominated vice president of Administration and Finance Mike Cilia as Homecoming King. Vanessa DeJesus, president of the Senior Class Council was nominated as Homecoming Queen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments